What is the Kraslag?

What is the Kraslag?

The Kraslag (Krasnoyarsk reform labour camp, not to be mixed up with the Kraslag Yenisseystroy) - was a typical lumbering camp, founded early in 1938 at the same time with those analogous camps, such as Unshlag, Vyatlag, Ussollag and Sewurallag.

The Kraslag administration was situated in Kansk, however, moved to the Reshot station (settlement of Nishnaya Poyma) in 1946 (definitely in 1948), where, until today, you will find the Administration, postbox Y-235.

As for the territorial point of view, the Kraslag camp points were scattered all over several districts in the South-Eastern part of the Krasnoyarsk region.

Like in all wood-cutting camps, the camp sub-sectors of the Kraslag were not very big: just for 600-800, rarely more than 1000 prisoners. In 1938-1939 and 1941-1945 the prisoners in this camp wasted and passed away from hunger, pellagra and dysentery in the same way as happened in all the other wood-cutting camps. In those times mortality could reach an annual average of 7-8%.

The first transports of detainees into the Kraslag came from the prisons of Primorye, Chabarovsk, Chita and Ukrainia (from the Donbas, Dnepropetrovsk, Kharkov, Kiev and obviously from Crimea, as well), and also from prisons in Kazakhstan (among others: Alma-Ata and Semipalatinsk). Later, in 1939 and 1940, prisoner transports from Leningrad and Middle Russia came to the Kraslag, the majority being political prisoners.

In summer 1941 several thousand Lithuanian citizens, who had all been arrested between the 13 and 19 June 1941, were transported and chased into the Kraslag.

Many of them died in the years 1941-1942. Only late in 1942 and early in 1943 they were "formally done with" in a special conference (special session), so that a great number of Lithuanians were sentenced posthumously. Most of them received a prison sentence of 5 to 10 years, some were sentenced to "VMN" (= maximum penalty = shooting) and were shot in the Kansk prison.

In January 1942 they drove several thousands of Volga-Germans into the Kraslag, including those, who got into exile in the Krasnoyarsk area. Of course, they had neither been given a paragraph nor a term of imprisonment. All this was called "Trud Army". The Germans were hold captive in seperate zones, the so-called "sections", with the same barbed wire fences, the same watch-towers, the same guard detachments, the same barracks, the same rations, the same norms, the same pellagra and the same dysentery. However, in the "Trud Army" zones action was taken by party and komsomol organizations, but actually nobody had the right to be admitted. The Germans were released in 1946 -, back to exile, of course.

In the second half of the forties prisoner transports from Lvov and other prisons in West Ukrainia arrived in the Kraslag, among them many women. There were also lots of similar transports from prisons in Minsk and Orsha, the majority also being represented by political prisoners.

In the years 1949-1950 most part of the political prisoners from the Kraslag were moved to "special camps". Pestchanlag (= sand camp) and Steplag (steppe camp in Kazakhstan). But afterwards many new political prisoners were detained in the Kraslag. Even after 1956 some still remained there (but obviously only a few).

Until 1950 more than 100.000 prisoners had gone through the Kraslag, and it seems that not less than half of them were political prisoners.


Home

Что такое Краслаг?

Что такое Краслаг?

Краслаг (Красноярский ИТЛ, его не следует путать с Краслагом Енисейстроя) - типичный лесоповальный лагерь, образованный в начале 1938 г., одновременно с такими аналогичными лагерями, как Унжлаг, Вятлаг, Усольлаг, Севураллаг.

Управление Краслага находилось в Канске, а в 1946 г. (реально в 1948 г.) было перенесено на ст. Решоты (пос. Нижняя Пойма), где и находится поныне как Управление п/я У-235.

Территориально лагерные пункты Краслага были разбросаны по нескольким районам в юго-восточной части Красноярского края.

Как и во всех лесоповальных лагерях, лагпункты Краслага были невелики: по 600-800, редко более 1000 заключённых. Как и во всех лесоповальных лагерях, в 1938-1939 гг. и 1941-1945 гг. узников косили голод, пеллагра и дизентерия. В эти периоды среднегодовая смертность, видимо, могла достигать 7-8%.

Первые этапы пришли в Краслаг из тюрем Приморья, Хабаровска, Читы и с Украины (из Донбасса, из Днепропетровска, Харькова, Киева, а также, видимо, из Крыма), затем из тюрем Казахстана (в частности, из Алма-Аты и Семипалатинска). Позднее, в 1939 и 1940 годах, в Краслаг пришли этапы из Ленинграда и средней России. Во всех этих этапах преобладали политзэки.

Летом 1941 года в Краслаг пригнали многотысячный этап литовских граждан, в основном арестованных 13-19 июня 1941 года. Немалая их часть погибла в 1941-1942 годах. Только в конце 1942 г. и начале 1943 г. их "оформили" особым совещанием, поэтому многие из литовских граждан оказались осуждены посмертно. Большинство получило сроки от 5 до 10 лет, а часть была осуждена к "ВМН" и расстреляна в Канской тюрьме.

В январе 1942 г. в Краслаг загнали несколько тысяч поволжских немцев, из числа попавших в ссылку в Красноярский край. У них, естественно, не было ни статей, ни сроков. Всё это называлось "трудармия". Немцев посадили в отдельные зоны, так называемые "отряды". Там была та же колючка, те же вышки, тот же конвой, те же бараки, те же пайки, те же нормы, та же пеллагра и дистрофия. Но зато в этих "трудармейских" зонах действовали партийные и комсомольские организации, - правда, без права приёма. Немцев выпустили из Краслага в 1946 г., - разумеется, обратно в ссылку.

Во 2-й половине 40-х гг. в Краслаг приходили этапы из Львова и других тюрем Западной Украины, в том числе большие женские этапы. Были также большие этапы из тюрем Минска и Орши. В них также преобладали политзаключённые.

В 1949-1950 годах основную часть политзаключённых отправили из Краслага в "особлаги": Песчанлаг и Степлаг (в Казахстане). Однако и после этого в Краслаг попадали новые политзэки. Даже после 1956 года там оставались политзаключённые (но, видимо, их было немного).

К 1950 году через Краслаг прошло свыше 100 тысяч заключённых. Видимо, не менее половины из них составляли политзаключённые.

См. Краслаг.


На главную страницу