Deportations from East Poland

Deportations from East Poland

Resulting from the 4th Partition of Poland, which was legalized by the signing of the УRibbentrop-Molotov-Pact,У the eastern voivodships of the Republic of Poland came under Soviet occupation: Stanislavsk, Tarnopol, Lvov, Polesk, Volhynsk, Vilensk, Bialystok and Novogrodsk, i.e. 8 out of 16 voivodships.

We suppose that in the years 1940-1941 there were four deportations of Polish citizens from territories situated in these voivodships; however, in view of the fact that deportations from the voivodships of Bialystok and Vilensk in the year 1941 started one month later than those from the southern areas of the occupied zones, we have reason for dividing the deportations into five waves and consider this one as being the fifth.

The date for the first deportation was February 10, 1940. It hit "legionaries" (former warriors of Piłsudski's legions, who had afterwards received allotments) and State employees with their families, among them many forestry workers, but also a huge number of ordinary farmers, Poles as well as Ukrainians. Parts of this stream, which came to our region in March of 1940, were widely scattered. After having arrived in Krasnoyarsk, they literally dispersed deportees from one transport to all ends of the region. Parts of them were taken to the district of Yartsevo, some to the Mana River (Vilistoye), others to the timber factory in Maklakovo, to the gold mines in the Udereysk and North-Yenissey districts (Yelenka, Ayakhta and others) or to the Snamensk glassworks near Krasnoyarsk, etc., etc.

According to the data available to us this stream of exiles came to our region exclusively from the southern voivodships (Lvov, Stanislavsk and Tarnopol). We do not have of any information concerning deportees from other regions in Poland.

The second rank, in terms of figures, is taken by the deportation of fugitives (mainly Jews) in April 1940. A particularly great number of fugitives had accumulated in Lvov at that time. Among them were not only fugitives from the western areas of Poland but also from Czechoslovakia and Austria. At first the Soviet members of the occupation forces suggested the fugitives "voluntarily" go to Siberia or Kazakhstan, but when only very few accepted, all of them were taken there under escort. We have mostly indirect information from various sources about deportees that came to our region with this stream. There were such exiles in Khakassia and in Tasseyevo. On the lists issued on the occasion of the repatriation transports from Abakan and Minusinsk, Jewish families represent 20% to 25% of those named.

We assume that the third deportation, in June 1940, mainly hit the families of officers and reservists who had been taken prisoners by the Soviets and were murdered by Communist cannibals in May 1940. This deportation, obviously, comprised fewer exiles than the previous ones. With this stream exiles from the voivodship of Novogrodsk (possibly families of prisoners of war were among them; however, we do not know of any such information) came to our region. Some of them were unloaded in Achinsk and taken to kolkhozes, others were transported further to Abakan from where they were sent to the villages in the district of Minusinsk.

The forth deportation wave, as it seems, mainly hit the southern voivodships early in May 1941. We have reason to presume that its ethnic structure predominantly consisted of Ukrainians. But there were also Poles and Jews. The stream that flooded to our region partly came from the voivodships of Stanislavsk and Volhynsk. According to the data available to us these exiles were primarily transferred to places with timber processing industries: the districts of Dauria, Bol'shemurta and Kazachinskoye.

Finally, late in June 1941, the last of these deportations hit the voivodships of Białystok, Novogrodsk and, obviously, Polesk, as well. The last transports of exiles headed for the east under bombing. Some of the exiles were detrained in Khakassia and sent to the sheep-breeding sovkhozes (state farms) in the steppes and foothill areas. Others were forced to get off the train in Kansk, from which they were taken to the surrounding districts (some of them to the district of Tasseyevo).

All these exiles should have been released in accordance with an "amnesty" granted to all Polish citizens in September 1941. In fact, only a few people who lived in exile in places near bigger towns were set free. When they learned about the formation of the Polish army, many of them left for Kazakhstan and Middle Asia, from which they were later evacuated with the army to Iran. Others departed to the Volga Region or the Altay. The majority of the exiled Polish citizens only found a way out of exile in 1943-1944. Many from Yenisseysk and Maklakovo moved over to Abakan, and from the Udereysk district to the Donets-Basin (Donetsk mining region).

And only in the spring of 1946 were almost all Polish citizens (ethnic Poles and Jews) who had still remained in Russia released and "repatriated" to Poland in an organized manner. Many Ukrainians and Belorussians also were able to leave for Poland, although the Soviet regime did not accept the validity of their foreign citizenship. The remaining Ukrainians and Belorussians returned to their native lands. 


Home

Депортации из Восточной Польши


В результате IV раздела Польши, оформленного в августе 1939 года "пактом Риббентроп-Молотов", под советскую оккупацию попали восточные воеводства Польской Республики: Станиславовское, Тарнопольское, Львовское, Полесское, Волынское, Виленское, Белостоцкое и Новогродское, то есть 8 из 16 воеводств.

В 1940-1941 годах принято насчитывать четыре депортации польских граждан с территории этих воеводств, но с учётом того, что депортации из Белостоцкого и Виленского воеводств в 1941 году проходили на месяц позднее, чем депортации из южной части оккупированных территорий, и были хронологически (а также логически) связаны с депортацией из Литвы, есть основания выделить их в 5-ю волну, то есть считать пятой депортацией.

Дата первой депортации - 10 февраля 1940 года. Под неё попали "легионисты" (бывшие бойцы Легионов Пилсудского, затем получившие земельные наделы) и госслужащие со своими семьями, в том числе очень много работников лесного хозяйства, но также огромная масса обыкновенных крестьян, как поляков, так и украинцев. Часть этого потока, пришедшая в марте 1940 года в наш регион, была рассеяна очень широко, и даже ссыльных из одного эшелона, после выгрузки в Красноярске, разбрасывали буквально в разные концы края. Одни попали в Ярцевский район, другие на Ману (Вилистое) , третьи на Маклаковский лесозавод, четвёртые на золотые рудники Удерейского и Северо-Енисейского районов (Еленка, Аяхта и т.п.), пятые на Знаменский стеклозавод под Красноярском, и т.д., и т.п.

По имеющимся у нас данным, этот поток шёл в наш регион исключительно из южных воеводств (Львовского, Станиславовского и Тарнопольского). Сведений о ссыльных из других регионов Польши у нас нет.

Второй по счёту стала депортация беженцев (в основном евреев) в апреле 1940 года. Особенно много беженцев скопилось в тот момент во Львове. Среди них были беженцы не только из западной части Польши, но также из Чехословакии и Австрии. Советские оккупационные власти сначала предложили беженцам "добровольно" ехать в Сибирь или Казахстан, а когда желающих нашлось мало, всех отправили туда под конвоем.

У нас есть только разрозненные и в основном косвенные сведения о ссыльных из этого потока в нашем регионе. Такие ссыльные были в Хакасии и в Тасеево. В репатриационных эшелонных списках по Абакану и Минусинску еврейские семьи составляют 20-25%.

Принято считать, что под третью депортацию, в июне 1940 года, попали прежде всего семьи офицеров и резервистов, попавших в советский плен и уничтоженных коммунистами в мае 1940 года. Видимо, эта депортация была не так многочисленна, как предыдущие. В наш регион попали в этом потоке ссыльные из Новогродского воеводства (возможно, среди них были семьи военнопленных, но у нас нет таких сведений). Одних выгрузили в Ачинске и загнали в колхозы, других довезли до Абакана и отправили по деревням Минусинского района.

Четвёртая депортация, в конце мая 1941 года, захватила, видимо, в основном южные воеводства. Есть основания предполагать, что в этническом отношении в этом потоке преобладали украинцы. В нём были, разумеется, поляки, а также евреи. В наш регион этот поток пришёл, в частности, из Станиславовского и из Волынского воеводства. По нашим данным, этих ссыльных в основном загнали в леспромхозы: в Даурском, Большемуртинском, Казачинском районах.

Наконец, последняя из этих депортаций, в конце июня 1941 года, захватила как Белостокское и Новогродское, так, видимо, и Полесское воеводство. Последние ссыльные эшелоны гнали на восток уже под бомбёжкой. Часть этого ссыльного потока выгрузили в Хакасии, а ссыльных разогнали по степным и предгорным овцесовхозам. Другую часть выгрузили в Канске, откуда ссыльных отправили в окрестные районы (в частности, в Тасеевский).

Все эти ссыльные должны были получить освобождение по сентябрьской 1941 года "амнистии", распространявшейся на всех польских граждан. Но реально были освобождены лишь немногие, находившиеся в ссылке близко от больших городов. Узнав о формировании польской армии, многие уехали в Казахстан и Среднюю Азию, а затем эвакуировались с армией в Иран. Другие уехали или в Поволжье, или на Алтай. Большинство ссыльных польских граждан выбрались из мест ссылки только в 1943-1944. Из Енисейска и Маклаково многие уехали в Абакан, из Удерейского района - в Донбасс.

И только весной 1946 года практически все ещё остававшиеся в СССР польские граждане (этнические поляки и евреи) были освобождены и в организованном порядке "репатриированы" в Польшу1. Уехать в Польшу удалось также многим украинцам и белорусам, хотя их иностранного гражданства советский режим не признавал. Остальные украинцы и белорусы вернулись на родину.

1. Это не совсем так. Репатриация 1946 г. не относилась к репрессированным в 1937-39 и 1944-45 годах. Вопрос репатриации поляков из территории СССР был заново поставлен после смерти Сталина. В 1957 правительства СССР и Польши заключили договор и только после его в Польшу прибыла большая волна людей "из-за Буга", как тогда их называли. Так что только в 1962 году было ликвидировано "Управление по репатриации" и ликвидирован "Уполномоченный правительства ПНР по вопросам репатриации".
Войтек Бещински
г.Гданск, Польша

Материалы по теме:

Научные работы

Публикации

Сообщения


На главную страницу На оглавление обзора На предыдущую страницу На следующую страницу