The Great Farmers' Deportation (1930-1935)

The Great Farmers' Deportation (1930-1935)

Introduction

The mass deportation of farmers, this "farmers' plague" (Gulag Archipelago, part 6, chapter 2) fell upon our region at the very beginning of the year 1930. And these were not only streams from other regions but also deportations of different dimensions: some with mass character but also comparatively uncoordinated ones, within the region, as well as beyond.

In the USSR this specific internal exile was officially named "the Kulak deportation." The exiles themselves were called "kulaks", although kulaks (rich peasant landowners) had not existed since the 1920s. But the Communists talked of "kulaks" and felt hatred for these farmers (and not only farmers) because they were able to provide for themselves and their families by their own labor without any "support" from the State. Such people were considered by the Soviet power as its worst enemies during the whole period of its 70 years’ existence.

An act of the Central Executive Committee and the Council of People's Commissars dated 01.02.1930 served as "legal basis" for the repression although mass deportations had already started in 1929.

The directions of these exile streams stood in close connection with Siberia's territorial partition. In the summer of 1930 the Bolsheviks got the idea of dividing the Siberian territory into a western part, with Novosibirsk as its center as before (including the Autonomous Region of Khakassia and the provinces of Achinsk and Minusinsk), and an eastern part with Irkutsk as its center. (In our region the traces of this partition can be still be seen in the postal codes: 662 - West Siberia, 663 - East Siberia). And since that time the exile streams from west and east Siberia almost never crossed each other.The deportations took place within the boundaries of these regions (one exception: the exile stream from the Altay to the settlements of Muntul and Imba on the Angara River in 1931, as well as the displacement of farmers from the province of Kansk to Narym in 1933). However, this is only true for our region: In 1933, they deported farmers and Cossacks from the present Chita district (at that time east Siberian territory) to the west Siberian part (to Narym and Vasyugane) and in large numbers even to Kazakhstan.

The internal exile of farmers was indefinite. It is another matter that a certain number of the farmers of that period were also sentenced to a "defined" term of internal exile, which was usually legalized by decision of the "Special three-member Boards." The group they sent into internal exile for a defined period was not less than 1,000 farmers from west Siberia to the "Turuchansk district." But when the sentence expired, they usually were not allowed to select their future residence themselves but were kept as "kulak labor resettlers."

At the very end of the 1930s (1939-1940), in Igarka, Yenisseysk, Maklakovo, Kansk and Krasnoyarsk, they started to release those farmers who had already been taken into internal exile when they were still under age (in accordance with a decree of the USSR Supreme Soviet Presidium of 1938). But this did not happen in the rural districts.In 1942 many exiles (by far not all) who were fit for active duty were released and immediately sent to the front. In some places they afterwards discharged their families; in others they did not.

In our region the release of farmers happened during the summer-autumn of 1947. In some places of exile the dismissed exiles were given certificates about their release. This procedure was applied in all towns but also in the districts situated on the Angara River. In other places, on the Chulym River for example, they were not. As a rule, these certificates led to the immediate issue of passports. Then in many cases (not everywhere, we are aware of exceptions) the certificates again were taken away from the released exiles.

Reliable information about any later (after 1947) release of exiled farmers is not available concerning our region. It has to be taken into consideration that in those places, where the release was not officially made public and the corresponding certificates were not being issued, the internal exiles could not know about their definite release. For that reason, the former exiles, who lived in the settlements on the Chulym River and in the regions of Tukhtet and Birilyussy, in 1954 suddenly and completely unexpectedly received passports. It seems to be quite natural that they interpreted this event as their release from internal exile.

In many other regions the exiled farmers were released later than in ours. In the Tomsk region a portion of them was released in 1948 and the remaining in 1950. At the very end of the 1940s they also released the exiled farmers in the region of Tyumen. In the Kemerovo region, particularly in the Kuzbas (Kuznetsk Basin), they were kept in internal exile until 1954 inclusive. 


Home

Великая крестьянская ссылка (1930-1935 гг.)


Введение

Массовая крестьянская ссылка, эта "мужичья чума" ("Архипелаг ГУЛАГ", ч. 6, гл. 2), обрушилась на наш регион в самом начале 1930 г.: и в форме ссыльных потоков из других регионов, и в форме разномасштабных (и массовых, и сравнительно разрозненных) депортаций - в пределах региона или же вовне, за его пределы.

Эта ссылка носила в СССР официальное название "кулацкой", а сами ссыльные именовались "кулаками". Хотя в действительности уже в 20-е годы никаких кулаков (сельских ростовщиков) давно не существовало. Но коммунисты объявили "кулаками" и люто ненавидели всех тех крестьян (впрочем, не только крестьян), кто был способен прокормить себя и семью своим трудом, без "помощи" властей. Таких "советская власть" считала своими злейшими врагами на протяжении всего её 70-летнего существования.

"Правовой основой" репрессий послужило постановление ЦИК и СНК от 1.02.30 г., хотя массовые депортации начались еще с 1929 г.

Направления ссыльных потоков были связаны с территориальным делением Сибири. Летом 1930 г. большевики придумали поделить Сибкрай на Западно-Сибирский, с центром, как и прежде, в Новосибирске (в него попала Хакасская АО, Ачинский и Минусинский округ), и Восточно-Сибирский край, с центром в Иркутске (следы этого деления сохранились в нашем регионе в почтовых индексах: 662 - ЗСК, 663 - ВСК). И с тех пор ссыльные потоки из ЗСК и ВСК почти не перекрещивались. Депортации шли в пределах этих краев (исключения - поток ссыльных с Алтая в пос. Мунтуль и Имба на Ангаре в 1931 г. и угон ссыльных крестьян из Канского округа в Нарым в 1933 г.). Однако сказанное верно лишь применительно к нашему региону: так, с территории современной Читинской области (тогда в составе ВСК) в 1933 г. угоняли крестьян и казаков в Запсибкрай (в Нарым и Васюганье), и даже, в большой массе, в Казахстан.

Крестьянская ссылка была бессрочной. Другое дело, что некоторая часть крестьян попала в тот же период и в "срочную" ссылку, оформленную обычно "особыми тройками". Так, не менее тысячи крестьян-срочников из Западной Сибири сослали в "Туруханский край". Но по отбытии их, как правило, никуда не отпускали, а просто оставляли в ссылке на положении "кулаков-трудпереселенцев".

В самом конце 30-х годов (1939-1940 гг.) в Игарке, Енисейске и Маклаково, в Канске, Красноярске начали освобождать тех ссыльных крестьян, которые попали на ссылку ещё в несовершеннолетнем возрасте (по указу ПВС СССР от 1938 г.). Но в сельских районах этого не происходило. В 1942 году освободили и тут же отправили на фронт многих (но далеко не всех) ссыльных, годных к военной службе. В некоторых местах после этого освободили из ссылки их семьи, в других местах - нет.

Освобождение ссыльных крестьян прошло в нашем регионе летом-осенью 1947 года. В некоторых местах ссылки освобождённым ссыльным выдавали справки об освобождении (так было во всех городах, но также, например, в приангарских районах), в других (например, на Чулыме) - нет. Обычно по этим справкам сразу выдавали паспорта, но при этом очень часто (хотя и не везде, известны исключения) забирали справки об освобождении.

Достоверных сведений о более позднем (позднее 1947 года) освобождении ссыльных крестьян по нашему региону не имеется. Следует учесть, что в тех местах, где никто официально не объявил об освобождении и не выдавались соответствующие справки, ссыльные могли вообще не знать, что их освободили. Так, в причулымских посёлках в Тюхтетском и Бирилюсском районах в 1954 году, совершенно неожиданно, бывшим ссыльным вдруг выдали паспорта. Вполне естественно, что именно это событие они восприняли как освобождение из ссылки.

Во многих других регионах ссыльных крестьян освобождали позднее, чем в нашем. В Томской области часть их освободили в 1948 году, а остальных только в 1950 году. В самом конце 40-х годов освобождали ссыльных крестьян также в Тюменской области. Наконец, в Кемеровской области, особенно в Кузбассе, их держали в ссылке до 1954 года включительно!

Материалы по теме:

Мемуары, художественные произведения

Публикации


На главную страницу На оглавление обзора На предыдущую страницу На следующую страницу