Deportations from Latvia

Deportations from Latvia

We presume that there were two large-scale deportations from the territory of the Republic of Latvia: in 1941 and 1949 (also s. section 5.3).

The first and most barbaric deportation of Latvian citizens is connected to the date of June 14, 1941. Considerable numbers of this stream of exiles were transported to our region. About its ethnic structure we can say that it mainly comprised Latvians and Latgals, but there were also many Belorussians and Poles from Latgalia, as well as Russians from the eastern districts of Latvia. There were also Jews among the exiles.

The deportees from Latgalia (the southern part of Latvia) happened to get to the east of our region, to the districts of Nizhneingash and Abakan, from where almost all of them were transferred to Igarka in the summer of 1942. Many deportees from the western parts of Latvia were driven away into exile to the districts east of Achinsk.

Numerous Latvian citizens, who were hit by this stream, found themselves in exile on a Sovkhoz called Molokovo in the Yartsevo district in the 1940s. Others happened to get to settlements in the districts of Turuchansk and Igarka, which were situated near the river.

According to information available to us there was only one transport of exiles from Latvia, from the southern part of the country, that left for our region in the late 1940s. This train was unloaded in Reshoty (Nizhnaya Pumya station) in the spring of the year 1949. The exiles were scattered in the forest ranges in the district of Nizhneingash.

In 1947 they released all those exiles of the first stream that had yet been under age in 1941. But in the late 1940s almost all of them were arrested again and sent back into exile. In a great number of cases they were taken to their former places of exile, but we know about exceptions. To give an example: many of those who were repeatedly exiled ended up in the Birilyussy district, and among them there were some that later returned home from exile from the Irkutsk region.

A considerable number of the exiles was released in 1957 or 1958. But many of them could not return home. The Soviet regime caused them a variety of impediments and difficulties.

In addition to the abovementioned streams of exiles, we have to point out one that shows different characteristics. We are talking about the stream of exiles that hit Latvian citizens, mainly ethnic Russians, from the annexed (annexed to the region of Pskov) east-Latvian areas (Abrene and others, i.e. the districts of Pytalovo, Kachanovo and Palkino). This stream of exiles dates back to the month of May 1950. The train was unloaded in Krasnoyarsk on June 10, 1950. Many exiles remained in the town (in the brickworks and the like); information about other places of exile are not known to us. This exile stream was belatedly "legalized" by the OSO (= Special Board) of the MGB (= Ministry of State Security) in the autumn of 1950. The exiles that had been hit by this stream were released earlier than the other Latvian citizens, i.e. already in January 1956. 


Home

Депортации из Латвии


Принято насчитывать две крупнейшие депортации с территории Латвийской Республики: в 1941 и 1949 годах (см. также п. 5.3).

Первая и наиболее варварская из депортаций латвийских граждан связывается с датой 14 июня 1941 года. Значительную часть этого ссыльного потока пригнали в наш регион. По этническому составу среди ссыльных преобладали латыши и латгальцы, но было много белорусов и поляков из Латгалии, а также русских из восточных уездов Латвии. Среди ссыльных были также евреи.

Депортированные из Латгалии (юго-восточная часть Латвии) попали на восток нашего региона, в Нижнеингашский и Абанский районы, откуда почти всех их летом 1942 года угнали в Игарку. Многих депортированных из западной части Латвии загнали на ссылку в районы к северу от Ачинска.

Многие латвийские граждане, угнанные в этом потоке, в 40-х годах находились в ссылке в совхозе им. Молокова, в Ярцевском районе. Другие попали в станки (приречные посёлки) Туруханского и Игарского районов.

По имеющимся у нас данным, в конце 40-х годов в наш регион пригнали только один ссыльный эшелон из Латвии, из её южной части. Его разгрузили весной 1949 года в Решотах (ст. Нижняя Пойма). Ссыльных разогнали по лесоучасткам Нижнеингашского района.

В 1947 году прошло освобождение тех ссыльных из первого потока, которые были несовершеннолетними в 1941 году. Но в конце 40-х годов их, почти всех, переловили и отправили обратно в ссылку. Во многих случаях их отправляли на прежнее место ссылки, но известны исключения. Например, многие повторные ссыльные попали в Бирилюсский район, и среди них были такие, кто вернулся на родину из ссылки в Иркутской области.

Основную часть ссыльных освободили в 1957 или 1958 году. Но многие из них не смогли вернуться на родину. Советский режим чинил им всяческие препоны.

Кроме названных потоков, нужно указать ещё один, со своими отличительными чертами. Это был поток ссыльных латвийских граждан, в основном русский по этническому составу, из аннексированных (присоединённых к Псковской обл.) восточных уездов Латвии (Абренский и другие, т.е. Пыталовский, Качановский и Палкинский районы). Этот ссыльный поток датируется маем 1950 г. Эшелон выгрузили в Красноярске 10 июня 1950 г. Многих ссыльных оставили в городе (на кирпичных заводах и т.п.), данные о других местах ссылки нам неизвестны. Задним числом, уже осенью 1950 г., ссылку "оформило" ОСО МГБ. Ссыльных из этого потока освободили раньше, чем других латвийских граждан, а именно уже в январе 1956 г.

Материалы по теме:

Мемуары, художественные произведения

Публикации

Свидетельства


На главную страницу На оглавление обзора На предыдущую страницу На следующую страницу